Men’s Hockey

NamePositionBirth DateAgeJersey No.From
P R Sreejesh (C) Goal Keeper(GK)8 May 19863016Kerala
Harmanpreet SinghDefender6 January 1996201Punjab
Rupinder Pal SinghDefender11 November 1990253Punjab
Kothajit SinghDefender17 August 1992235Manipur
Surendar KumarDefender23 November 1993226Haryana
V R RaghunathDefender1 November 19882712Karnataka
Manpreet SinghMidfielder
26 June 1992247Punjab
Sardara SinghMidfielder15 July 1986308Haryana
S K UthappaMidfielder2 December 19932215Kanataka
Danish MujtabaMidfielder20 December 19882717Uttar pradesh
Devinder WalmikiMidfielder28 May 19922422Maharashtra
S V Sunil (VC)Forward6 May 19892724Karnataka
Akashdeep SinghForward2 December 19942127Punjab
Chingelsana SinghForward2 December 19912429Manipur
Ramandeep SinghForward1 April 19932331Punjab
Nikkin ThimmaiahForward18 January 19912532Karnataka

hockey images

1 men hockey team images11

Indian Hockey team is currently basking in the glory of a medal in the Champions trophy after 22 years after getting Silver losing a close match to Australia in Penalty shootouts.

Having won eight Olympics gold medals till date, India is the most successful team ever in Olympics. Their 2014 Team (who qualified for the 2016 Rio Olympics after winning gold at the Asian Games) is ranked fifth in the world.

Sardara Singh was the captain of the team till the Olympic squad was announced where surprisingly he was removed from the captaincy and the responsibility was handed over to Goalkeeper Sreejesh who has been the pillar of success for India in the past few years.

The squad chosen for the Olympics contains not only seasoned veterans like Sardara Singh and S V Sunil but young guns like Harmanpreet who performed very well in the Champions Trophy and Ramandeep Singh.

Coach: Roelant Oltmans

Captain: P R Sreejesh

Men's Hockey(1)